Loi de finances 2020 - Importer des avantages pour les investissements dans les zones de catastrophe économique
13 janvier 2020
TVA sur les transactions e-commerce au Cameroun
Le Cameroun impose une taxe sur la valeur ajoutée sur les transactions de commerce électronique
20 janvier 2020

La prolifération des titres de sociétés au Cameroun

Titre d'entreprise

Image CarenK à partir de Pixabay

Au Cameroun, les gens prennent des titres de société sans structure commerciale légalement enregistrée. Les titres d'entreprise ou d'entreprise sont devenus si courants que chaque travailleur indépendant choisit le titre avec lequel il se sent à l'aise, même lorsque l'entreprise est inexistante.

J'ai vu des PDG, PDG, MD, GM ou autre sans entreprise légalement enregistrée. Ils sont là dans leur nombre portant ces titres et les affichant publiquement sans même connaître la description de poste ou la structure juridique de ces titres.

Une chose que vous devez comprendre est que le choix d'un titre ne dépend pas de vous et de votre confort. Ces titres ont des responsabilités et des implications juridiques qui les accompagnent.

Shara Coworking

Quel titre d'entreprise vous convient le mieux?

Pour que vous sachiez quel titre de poste vous devez utiliser, vous devez d'abord connaître le structure juridique de votre entreprise ainsi que les responsabilités associées audit titre. J'ai vu un commerçant indépendant s'appeler PDG (Directeur général).

Il est grand temps de mettre de l'ordre dans les titres que les gens se donnent qui ne représentent en fait pas leur structure d'entreprise. Le plus amusant, c'est que beaucoup de ceux qui ont de tels titres n'ont même pas entreprises enregistrées.

Au Cameroun, les titres d'entreprise dépendent de la structure juridique et sont liés à des responsabilités et à une obligation de rendre compte spécifiques. Chaque titre est associé à un rôle dans la structure de l'entreprise. Je partagerai avec vous ci-dessous quelques titres et leurs fonctions:

1. Partenariats généraux

Directeur (Gérant en français) - La dénomination sociale la plus élevée dans une société en nom collectif est la gérante. C'est ce que vous devez avoir en tant que directeur et non PDG, directeur général ou directeur général. 

Le gérant exerce toutes les fonctions de direction dans l'intérêt de la société. Dans le cas où il y aurait plusieurs gérants, chacun d'entre eux aura les mêmes pouvoirs que le gérant unique. Il est à noter qu'une société en nom collectif peut désigner plusieurs gérants qui peuvent être associés ou non ainsi que des personnes physiques ou morales.

2. Entreprise individuelle

Directeur (Gérant en français) - Tout comme le gérant ou les gérants d'une société en nom collectif, celui d'un entreprise à propriétaire unique exerce toutes les fonctions de direction dans l'intérêt de l'entreprise. En tant que propriétaire de l'entreprise, vous avez automatiquement le titre de directeur car les décisions sont prises par vous.

Cela ne signifie pas que vous ne pouvez pas nommer un directeur pour gérer les activités de l'entreprise à propriétaire unique. Cependant, puisque la licence commerciale porte votre nom en tant que propriétaire, légalement, vous devenez le seul gestionnaire de l'entreprise.

Les propriétaires uniques exécutent légalement toutes les décisions relatives à l'administration et à la gestion quotidiennes de l'entreprise.

3. Société à responsabilité limitée privée

Directeur (Gérant en français) - Un privé société à responsabilité limitée peut être gérée par une ou plusieurs personnes (personnes physiques), membres ou non de l'actionnariat. Ces gérants sont nommés par les membres figurant dans les statuts.

Le gérant d'une société à responsabilité limitée exerce toutes les fonctions de direction susceptibles d'intéresser la société. S'ils sont nombreux, ils détiendront séparément les pouvoirs qui leur sont dévolus en vertu de l'article d'association.

(S) il a l'autorité la plus large pour agir dans toutes les circonstances au nom de l'entreprise lorsqu'il traite avec des tiers. Cependant, celle-ci doit être soumise aux pouvoirs prévus par l'Acte uniforme OHADA.

Dans ce cas, le titre juridique que vous devez utiliser en tant que chef d'une société à responsabilité limitée, d'une société en nom collectif ou d'une entreprise à propriétaire unique est un Manager. Dans ce cas, tous ceux qui utilisent des titres tels que directeurs généraux, PDG, PDG, directeur général, directeur général dans ces structures d'entreprise ont tort de les utiliser.

4. Société anonyme à responsabilité limitée

Les sociétés anonymes ont deux structures de gestion dont les propriétaires doivent en choisir une conformément à l'Acte uniforme. Ceux-ci inclus:

  • Société anonyme à conseil d'administration

Avec cela, l'entreprise sera gérée par le Chief Executive Officer (CEO), président du conseil d'administration et directeur général. Dans ce cadre, le Conseil d'Administration (BOD) peut désigner un CEO qui doit être issu de ses membres et qui doit être une personne physique.

Le directeur général a pour responsabilités:
  • Présider le conseil d'administration et les assemblées générales
  • Assurer la direction générale de l'entreprise et la représenter dans toutes relations avec des tiers

Dans certains pays, la dénomination sociale équivalente d'un PDG est le Directeur générale or Président Directeur Général. Cela signifie que vous pouvez utiliser ces titres équivalents si vous êtes le plus haut dirigeant d'une société anonyme à conseil d'administration.

Le président du conseil d'administration a pour responsabilités:
  • Présider le conseil d'administration et les assemblées générales
  • S'assure que le CA supervise la gestion de l'entreprise qui a été confiée au directeur général
Le directeur général est nommé par le CA et assume les responsabilités suivantes:
  • Responsable de la direction générale de l'entreprise

Il est à noter que le conseil d'administration peut également en désigner d'autres pour assister le directeur général en tant que directeurs généraux adjoints.

Le président du conseil d'administration et directeur général est ce qui est couramment utilisé au Cameroun notamment avec les entreprises parapubliques ou les entreprises dont le gouvernement est actionnaire. Les autres noms pouvant être utilisés pour le titre de directeur général incluent Directeur générale, Directeur général or Directeur Général.

  • Société anonyme à directeur général

Une société anonyme qui compte moins ou égal à trois (3) actionnaires peut choisir de ne pas avoir de conseil d'administration. Dans ce cas, ils peuvent désigner un Directeur général (Directeur général, Directeur général). 

  • Le directeur général prend en charge l'administration et la gestion de l'entreprise
  • Convoque et préside les assemblées générales des actionnaires
  • A le pouvoir d'agir dans toutes les activités et circonstances au nom de l'entreprise

Une société anonyme peut à tout moment décider de modifier sa structure de gestion et d'administration quotidienne lorsqu'elle le juge nécessaire. Une telle décision devrait être prise lors d'une assemblée générale extraordinaire qui modifiera les statuts.

En affaires, avoir le bon titre est très important, surtout lorsqu'il s'agit d'un tiers. Imaginez que vous disiez à quelqu'un qui connaît ces titres que vous êtes le PDG de votre entreprise. La personne sait immédiatement que vous possédez une société anonyme, tandis que vous pouvez exploiter une entreprise à propriétaire unique ou ne pas avoir une entreprise légalement enregistrée.

Les titres viennent avec l'autorité et les responsabilités de lier une entreprise. Une fois que vous commencez à abuser des titres, vous envoyez un faux message sur la structure de votre entreprise, qui vous êtes et les responsabilités que vous avez.

Nous sommes à votre disposition si vous avez besoin de conseils pour choisir la structure d'entreprise adaptée à vos activités. Nous proposons également services de création d'entreprise ou d'enregistrement d'entreprise au Cameroun. Nos experts peuvent vous aider à choisir la structure d'entreprise la mieux adaptée à l'activité que vous souhaitez exercer.

OpenHub Digital est un guichet unique pour vous démarrer, gérer et développer votre entreprise au Cameroun. Nous contacter dès maintenant ! Réservez votre place aujourd'hui!

En attendant, vous pouvez également laisser une question ou une contribution dans la section des commentaires ci-dessous. Nous avons également un forum où vous pouvez toujours poser vos questions dans le public ou aider à donner des réponses.

Rejoignez notre groupe WhatsApp Faire des affaires au Cameroun or Chaîne OpenHub Digital Official sur Télégramme

Laissez vos commentaires ou inquiétudes ci-dessous.

Image CarenK à partir de Pixabay

Vous pouvez nous contacter maintenant!

Email: info@openhubdigital.com | Tel: +237 699 421 947 | WhatsApp | Telegram

Ce contenu a été préparé à des fins d'information uniquement. Il ne vise pas à fournir et ne doit pas être invoqué pour des conseils fiscaux, comptables ou juridiques. Vous devez consulter vos propres conseillers fiscaux, comptables ou juridiques avant de vous engager dans une transaction.

 

Openhub Digital - Incorporation de société au Cameroun
Kermann Lobga Derick
Kermann Lobga Derick
Rédacteur de contenu / blogueur | Coach de petite entreprise | Expert en image de marque | Entrepreneur | Dad Kermann Lobga est un rédacteur, un professionnel du marketing numérique axé sur les résultats et un entrepreneur avec plus de 14 ans d'expérience.

Laissez un commentaire

Incorporer maintenant!
EnglishFrench
%d blogueurs comme ceci:

2020 Finance Law – Import benefits for investments in economic disaster areas
January 13, 2020
VAT on e-commerce transactions in Cameroon
Cameroon imposes value-added tax on e-commerce transactions
January 20, 2020

The proliferation of corporate titles in Cameroon

Corporate title

Image by CarenK from Pixabay

In Cameroon, people take on corporate titles with no legally registered business structure. Corporate or business titles have become so common that every self-employed person chooses what title they feel at ease with even when the business is nonexistent.

I have seen CEOs, PDGs, MDs, GMs or what not with no legally registered business. They’re out there in their numbers bearing these titles and displaying them publicly without even knowing the job description or the legal structure for these titles.

One thing you need to understand is that choosing a title does not depend on you and how comfortable you are with it. These titles do have responsibilities and legal implications that go along with them.

Openhub Digital - Company Incorporation in Cameroon

Which corporate title is right for you?

In order for you to know which job title you have to use, you need to first of all know the legal structure of your business as well as the responsibilities that are associated with the said title. I have seen a sole trader call himself as PDG (Président Directeur Général).

It is high time some order be put in the titles people give themselves that actually doesn’t represent their business structure. The fun is that many of those who have such titles don’t even have registered businesses.

In Cameroon, corporate titles depend on the legal structure and are tied with specific responsibilities and accountability. Each title is associated with a role in the business structure. I will share with you below some titles and their functions:

1. General Partnerships

Manager (Gérant in French) – The highest corporate title in a general partnership is the manager. This what you as the manager need to have as a title and not CEO, General Manager or Managing Director. 

The manager carries out all managerial duties in the partnership’s interest. In case there are many managers, each of them will have the same powers as the sole manager. It is worthy to note that a partnership can appoint several managers who can be partners or not as well as natural or legal entities.

2. Sole proprietorship

Manager (Gérant in French) – Just like the manager or managers of a general partnership, that of a sole proprietor business carries out all managerial duties in the company’s interest. As the owner of the business, you automatically have the title of a manager because decisions are taken by you.

That doesn’t mean you cannot appoint a manager to run activities in the sole proprietor business. However, since the business license carries your name as the owner, legally, you become the sole manager of the business.

Sole proprietors legally carry out all decisions on the day-to-day administration and management of the business.

3. Private limited liability company

Manager (Gérant in French) – A private limited company can be managed by one or more people (natural persons) who may be members of the shareholding or not. These managers are appointed by the members found in the articles of association.

The manager in a private limited company performs all managerial duties that may be of interest to the company. If they are many managers, they will hold separately the powers vested upon them under the article of association.

(S)he has the broadest authority to act in every circumstance on behalf of the company when dealing with third parties. However, this should be subjected to the powers provided for in the OHADA Uniform Act.

In this case, the legal corporate title you have to use as the head of a private limited company, partnership or sole proprietor business is a Manager. In this case, all those using titles like Managing Directors, CEOs, PDGs, Director General, General Manager in these business structures are wrong in using them.

4. Public limited liability company

Public limited liability companies have two management structures of which the owners have to choose one according to the Uniform Act. These include:

  • Public limited company with board of directors

With this, the company will be managed by the Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Chairman of the Board of Directors and General Manager. In this setting, the Board of Directors (BOD) may appoints a CEO who must come from among its members and which must be a natural person.

The Chief Executive Office has as responsibilities:
  • To chair the board of directors and general meetings
  • Carry out the general management of the company as well as represent it in any dealings with third parties

In certain countries, the equivalent corporate title of a CEO is the Managing Director or President Directeur Général. This means you can use this equivalent titles if you are the most senior executive of a public limited company with board of directors.

Chairman of the board of directors has as responsibilities:
  • To chair the board of directors and general meetings
  • Makes sure that the BOD oversees the management of the company that has been entrusted into the hands of the General Manager
The General Manager is appointed by the BOD and has the following responsibilities:
  • Responsible for the general management of the company

It should be noted that the board of directors may also appoint others to assist the general manager as deputy general managers.

The chairman of the board of directors and general manager  is what is commonly used in Cameroon especially with para-public corporations or companies that the government is a shareholder. Other names that can be used for the title of General Manager include Managing Director, General Director or Directeur Général.

  • Public limited company with a general director

A public limited company that has less than or equal to three (3) shareholders may choose not to have a board of directors. In this case they may appoint a General Director (General Manager, Directeur Général). 

  • The general director takes charge of the administration and management of the company
  • Calls as well as chairs shareholders’ general meetings
  • Has the powers to act in all activities and circumstances on behalf of the company

A public limited company may at any time decide to change its daily management and administration structure as it deems necessary. Such a decision should be taken during an extraordinary general meeting that will amend the articles of association.

In business, having the correct title is very important especially when dealing with a third-party. Imagine you telling someone who knows these titles that you are the CEO of your company. The person immediately knows you own a public limited company meanwhile you may be running a sole proprietor business or may not have a legally registered business.

Titles come with authority and responsibilities to bind a business. Once you start to misuse titles, you send a false message about your business structure, who you are and the responsibilities you have.

We are at your disposal if you need advise to choose the right business structure for your activities. We also offer company creation or business registration services in Cameroon. Our experts can help coach you on which business structure will be best for the activity you want to carry out.

OpenHub Digital is a one-stop-shop for you to start, run and grow your business in Cameroon. Get in touch now!

Meanwhile you can also leave a question or contribution in the comment section below. We also have a forum where you can always ask your questions in the public or help give answers.

Join our WhatsApp group Doing Business in Cameroon or OpenHub Digital Official’s channel on Telegram.

Drop your comments or worries below.

Image by CarenK from Pixabay

You can get in touch now!

Email: info@openhub.site | Tel: +237 699 421 947 | WhatsApp | Telegram

This content has been prepared for information purposes only. It is not intended to provide, and should not be relied on for, tax, accounting or legal advice. You need to consult your own tax, accounting or legal advisors before engaging in any transaction.

 

Openhub Digital - Company Incorporation in Cameroon
Kermann Lobga Derick
Kermann Lobga Derick
Content Writer / Blogger | Small Business Coach | Branding Expert | Entrepreneur| Dad Kermann Lobga is a copywriter, results-oriented digital marketing professional and an entrepreneur with more than 14 years of experience.

Leave a Reply

Incorporate Now
%d bloggers like this: